Chain Stitch Hem – A.P.C. New Cure

I had my A.P.C. New Cures hemmed the other day. To many denimheads this is considered blasphemous, but they needed an update over the hack job my last tailor performed. Luckily, I knew just the place to handle such a task. Self Edge is known as the denim connieseur’s jean shop, and having one of only three location about a mile away from my house meant it was high time to mosey over for a Union Special chain stitch.

For those of you unaware, a chain stitch is a sewing technique in which a series of looped stitches form a chain-like pattern. I’ll use Self Edge’s words to explain why this is pertinent for hemming raw denim jeans, “…with a chainstitch your hem will form a beautiful roping effect after time due to the opposite pull of denim during washing/shrinking. Wabi-Sabi indeed.” I realize that I’ve certainly done this in the wrong order as my new cures have already seen plenty of wear and washes, but hopefully this will give me a bit of street cred. Just kidding… or am I?

Scott

This entry was posted in Style and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

