Top 5: Dessert Spots

Scott put together a Top 5 Bars list, and while I love The Wellesbourne and Tiki Ti, I don’t drink. Thus, it seems more appropriate for me to write a Top 5 on my favorite places to grab dessert.

Urth Caffe – 267 South Beverly Drive, Beverly Hills (and other locations)

Great hours, organic ingredients and a large menu. Desserts are baked fresh daily, are all priced around $5 and are seriously delicious. My personal favorite is the Green Tea Tiramisu, though my friend Brandon swears by the Flourless Chocolate Cake. If you’re going to consume all in one sitting, keep an eye out for “bake sale” items that are a steal of a deal, but won’t keep as long (from earlier in the day or the night before).

Wildfish – 1370 Bison Ave, Newport Beach, CA

Not located in Los Angeles, or even the thirty mile zone really, but well worth the drive in my opinion. Next time you take a day trip to Newport, stop by Wildfish for dinner and dessert. I recommend the Parmesan Sol with Lemon Butter Sauce, followed by either the Godiva Chocolate Soufflé or the Pineapple Upside Down Cake, which they literally light on fire flambé style.

The Crescent – 155 North Crescent Drive, Beverly Hills, CA

I’ve included The Crescent on this list not only because the dessert is great, but because the ambiance is fantastic. Great patio lounge setting, upscale but casual, and the bartender is one of the nicest in the city (I believe his name is Patrick, could be wrong). Anyway, the appetizers & desserts are phenomenal, and that’s what really matters, right?

Diddy Riese – 926 Broxton Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90024

A Westwood institution, Diddy Riese serves up the most amazing ice cream sandwiches. Choose two chocolates and a scoop of ice cream and prepare to be blown away. You can mix and match your cookies, but I usually opt for white chocolate chip paired with mint chocolate chip ice cream. For just over a dollar, it’s a great value. Bring a sweatshirt if it’s chilly out, there’s usually a line out front.

Syrup – 611 S Spring St, Los Angeles, CA

I first read about Syrup in Bunker Hill, a magazine that I do a lot of photography work for. Despite doing a lot of business in Downtown Los Angeles, I’m pretty unfamiliar with the dining scene. When I found this gem, I knew I’d found a great go-to joint when in the neighborhood, day or night. Syrup is great because it’s open late and they serve awesome crepes. It’s pretty busy as a coffee shop during the day, but unless it’s Art Walk, you can usually get a table at nighttime without much of a wait. Bonus points for having Jenga available for customers feeling competitive.

Jordan

This entry was posted in Places and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top 5: Dessert Spots

  1. Brandon says:

    I dream about Urth Caffe. #truth

Leave a Reply

